Przejdź do głównej treści Przejdź do nawigacji
Ośrodek Badań nad Migracjami

Agnieszka Fihel, Marek Okólski. 2019.

Population decline in the post-communist countries of the European Union


Population and Societies n° 567, June 2019


The European Union includes 11 post-communist countries (Bulgaria, Croatia, Czechia, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and Slovenia). The population of this group of countries has fallen by 7% since 1989, whereas that of the rest of the EU has risen by 13%. Before the fall of the Berlin Wall, these countries had younger populations than the rest of the EU, but they are now ageing due to low fertility and mass emigration of young people.