Przejdź do głównej treści Przejdź do nawigacji
Centre of Migration Research

Structure of CMR


The Centre of Migration Research operates in accordance with the Regulations issued by the authorities of the University of Warsaw (resolution of the Senate of the University of Warsaw of 1 June 2020) and the Detailed Rules of Operation introduced by the Order of the Director of the Centre of Migration Research of 28 September 2020.

The mission of the Centre of Migration Research (OBM) is to conduct research on migration, disseminate its results, promote knowledge about migration and educate specialists in this field.

Director and College of Directors

The body making decisions on the Centre’s activities and responsible for its overall operation is the Director of CMR. From the beginning of its existence until August 2016 the Director of the CMR was Professor Marek Okólski. In the 2020-2024 term, the position of Director is held by Proffesor Proffesor Paweł Kaczmarczyk.

In his daily work, the Director is supported by a College of Directors consisting of the Director and the Deputy Directors. The Acting Deputy Director is Proffesor Agata Górny and Proffesor Magdalena Lesińska. In its work, the College of Directors regularly consults with the Unit Heads.

Scientific Council of the Centre

consists of 19 members, representing the Faculty of Economic Sciences, Faculty of Political Science and International Studies, andCMR. The first meeting of the Council for the 2016-2020 term was held in the autumn 2016.

The Council decides on the Centre’s development strategy as well as on the recruitment of new staff.

During the 2012-2016 term, the function of the Chairman of the Council was held by Professor Cezary Żołędowski. During the terms of office 2016-2020 and 2020-2024, the function of the Chairman of the Scientific Council was assumed by Professor Marek Okólski

The Council for the term 2020-2024 consists of:

prof. dr hab. Marek Okólski
prof. dr hab. Cezary Żołędowski
dr hab. Agnieszka Chłoń-Domińczkak, prof. SGH
dr hab. Agata Górny, prof. ucz.
dr hab. Izabela Grabowska, prof. ALK
dr hab. Gabriela Grotkowska, prof. ucz.
dr hab. Aleksandra Grzymała-Kazłowska, prof. ucz.
dr hab. Paweł Kaczmarczyk, prof. ucz
dr hab. Witold Klaus, prof. INP PAN
dr hab. Sławomir Łodziński, prof. ucz.
dr hab. Wojciech Łukowski, prof. ucz.
prof. dr hab. Dariusz Stola, prof. INP PAN
prof. dr hab. Przemysław Śleszyński, prof. IGiPZ PAN
dr hab. Magdalena Lesińska
dr hab. Agnieszka Fihel
dr hab. Mikołaj Pawlak
dr Kamila Fiałkowska
dr Barbara Jancewicz
dr Marta Jaroszewicz
dr Weronika Kloc-Nowak
dr Marta Pachocka

Research Units and research groups

Research units are appointed by the Director. They gather researchers and co-operators of CMR who carry out specific research tasks. Units are divided into permanent research units and research groups.

There are three permanent research units in the Centre:

– the Socio-Economic Research Unit led by Barbara Jancewicz Ph.D.:

  1. mgr Aliaksiej Bashko
  2. dr Zuzanna Brunarska
  3. dr Sara Bojarczuk
  4. dr Alina Burliai
  5. dr Maryna Demianchuk
  6. dr hab. Agata Górny
  7. dr Agnieszka Fihel
  8. mgr Mateusz Jamro
  9. dr Barbara Jancewicz
  10. dr Anna Janicka
  11. dr Ewa Jaźwińska
  12. dr hab. Paweł Kaczmarczyk
  13. mgr Nasim Mondal
  14. dr Olena Ovchynnikova
  15. mgr Katarzyna Porwit
  16. dr Sabina Toruńczyk-Ruiz
  17. mgr Małgorzata Wrotek
  18. prof. dr hab. Marek Okólski

– the Socio-Cultural Research Unit, led by Weronika Kloc-Nowak, Ph.D:

  1. dr Wojciech Bedyński
  2. dr Sara Bojarczuk
  3. dr Anita Brzozowska
  4. mgr Ewa Cichocka
  5. dr Magdalena Chułek
  6. dr Olga Cojocaru
  7. dr Kamila Fiałkowska
  8. dr Michał Garapich
  9. mgr Kseniya Homel
  10. dr hab. Agata Górny
  11. dr hab. Aleksandra Grzymała-Kazłowska
  12. dr Ewa Jaźwińska-Motylska
  13. dr Ignacy Jóźwiak
  14. dr Weronika Kloc – Nowak
  15. dr Marta Kindler
  16. dr Karolina Łukasiewicz
  17. dr hab. Wojciech Łukowski, prof. UW
  18. mgr Karolina Madej
  19. dr Elżbieta Mirga-Wójtowicz
  20. dr Karolina Nikielska-Sekuła
  21. dr Anna Rosińska
  22. dr Aneta Piekut
  23. dr Agnieszka Radziwinowiczówna
  24. mgr Sonia Styrkacz
  25. dr Karolina Sobczak-Szelc
  26. mgr Monika Szewczyk
  27. dr Aleksandra Winiarska
  28. dr Sabina Toruńczyk-Ruiz
  29. prof. Cezary Żołędowski

– the Migration Policies Research Unit led by Marta Jaroszewicz Ph.D:

  1. mgr Joanna Bagadzińska
  2. dr hab. Maciej Duszczyk
  3. dr Marcin Gońda
  4. dr Jan Grzymski
  5. mgr Ksenya Homel
  6. mgr Mateusz Jamro
  7. dr Marta Jaroszewicz
  8. dr hab. Witold Klaus
  9. dr Kamila Kowalska
  10. dr Kateryna Krakhmalova
  11. mgr Mateusz Krępa
  12. dr Magdalena Lesińska
  13. dr Karolina Łukasiewicz
  14. dr hab. Stefan Markowski, prof. WSIiZ
  15. mgr Kamil Matuszczyk
  16. mgr Nasim Mondal
  17. dr hab. Michał Nowosielski
  18. dr Marta Pachocka
  19. dr Karolina Podgórska
  20. dr Dominika Pszczółkowska
  21. mgr Renata Stefańska
  22. mgr Justyna Szałańska
  23. mgr Monika Szulecka
  24. dr Maciej Tygielski
  25. mgr Dominik Wach

The head of the research unit shall be appointed by the Director for a term of two years starting on 1 October of that year.

Support Team of the Centre

The Centre’s Support Team consists of the Centre’s Secretary, the Bursar’s Plenipotentiary, Financial Controller, Assistant to the Project Support Office, and persons performing other functions appointed by the Director.

Contact with the Secretary and the Bursar’s Plenipotentiary is available here.


In connection with the implementation of the CMR Mission, the Director may appoint CMR researchers to perform other functions in the CMR. Currently, the functions in CMR are:

Recruitment selection board:

1) dr hab. prof. ucz. Maciej Duszczyk, Faculty of Political Science and International Studies (UW);
2) dr hab. Magdalena Lesińska, CMR;
3) dr hab. Sławomir Łodziński, prof. ucz., Faculty of Sociology (UW);
4) prof. dr hab. Marek Okólski, chairman, CMR;
5) representatives of the relevant scientific disciplines

dr hab. Wojciech Łukowski, editor of the monograph series „Studia Migracyjne”;

dr Anita Brzozowska, editor of series „CMR Working Papers”;

dr Ewa Jaźwińska-Motylska, methodology consultant;

dr Agnieszka Radziwinowiczówna, coordinator for international research cooperation.

In addition, the CMR has the Ethics committee and the following teams dedicated to supporting and popularising research activities:

– the editorial team  CEEMR;

– the editorial team “CMR Spotlight”;